13 December 2023

Earth, Wind & Fire’s “Side By Side” From Their 1983 Album Powerlight

Here’s the track “Side By Side” from Earth, Wind & Fire’s 1983 release Powerlight.

After the demise of ARC, in February of 1983, Powerlight, our twelfth album on Columbia Records, was released. Powerlight had a minor R&B hit, “Fall In Love With Me,” but I felt the album had not been promoted properly. Although it went gold, it was viewed as a commercial disappointment.

Next to Faces, Powerlight is probably one of our best and most overlooked albums.

– Maurice White. My Life With Earth, Wind & Fire, by Maurice White with Herb Powell, 2016.

“Side By Side”
Written by Maurice, Wayne Vaughn, Wanda Vaughn

Album produced by Maurice for Kalimba Productions

Switch On Your Radio // Maurice White (1985)
  1. Switch On Your Radio // Maurice White (1985)
  2. Stand By Me // Maurice White (1985)
  3. I Need You // Maurice White (1985)
  4. Life // Maurice White (1985)
  5. Adventures Of The Heart // Maurice White (1985)